Pickled onions

One thing I remember as a regular addition to our meals when I was growing up was pickled onions. (There was also the eternal beetroot, but I can’t iamgine myself pressure-cooking beetroot, never mind making sure it never runs out! I wasn’t all that fond of it!)

Luckily my late mother taught me her secrets about making pickled onions. It’s one of those strangely compelling things to add to your plate. I love to eat them with cheese and crackers (or on a sandwich with cheese, lettuce, tomato and a little chutney) or as a side to a charred piece of meat fresh off the braai.

My onions can be rather hot, so please let me know when you place your order if you have an aversion to hot food. A jar of delicious pickled onions costs R50. To order, please click here.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑